Notice of Fire Ban in Yavapai County

April 19, 2018 - 2:18 pm

In accordance with Yavapai County Ordinance No. 2012-1, Section V. Yavapai County Board of Supervisor Chairman, Rowle Simmons has signed an interim order to enact a fire ban within Yavapai County.

This determination is based upon the implementation of fire restrictions by the following jurisdictions: Prescott National Forest, Bureau of Land Management, Arizona Department of Forestry and Fire Management, and local fire districts and fire departments which will be imposed on April 20, 2018, at 8:00 A.M.

The restrictions are due to little precipitation since the end of last summer’s monsoon season across Yavapai County, and the combination of windy conditions and warmer temperatures which are quickly drying out the tall vegetation. These conditions create the potential for a large fire event. The fire ban covers the unincorporated areas of the Yavapai County. Each fire department or fire district has the authority to apply fire restrictions for their respective jurisdiction. Please check with your local fire jurisdiction for more information.

The county ban prohibits all open fires and campfires. Fireworks and other pyrotechnic displays are expressly prohibited. Other types of outdoor fires banned are those that produce open flames such as lamp oil in tiki lamps. The ban also prohibits the outdoor use of equipment that generates open flames or a spark. This restricts the use of welding equipment and chain saws. Variances for businesses however, can be requested.

The determination includes the following Fire Ban Zones: All of Yavapai County to include the Central Zone, Southern Zone, Northern Zone, and Eastern Zone.

Know before you go - for current information on fire restrictions please visit: or or by calling 1-877-864-6985.